Ann-Eve Johnson Award

The Ann-Eve Johnson Award was initiated in 1981 to recognize a Sustaining member who has made significant contributions to the community as a volunteer. This prestigious award is named after a woman who was President of the Junior League in 1939-1940. Ann-Eve was always active in the community and some of her contributions included Tucson Children’s Theatre, Planned Parenthood,Temple of Music and Art, Tucson Historical Society, and St. Luke’s Home. During the 1950’s, Ann-Eve, along with Helen Murphey and Jane Vancovich, became involved in efforts to save important Tucson landmarks. One story tells the three of them lying down in the street in front of bulldozers to save the Fremont House – which still stands today as a museum for people to see. While most recipients don’t stand in front of bulldozers, these women have followed Ann-Eve’s example of volunteerism.

1980-81   Lydia Paulsen
1981-82   Mary Foster
1982-83   Betty Ochoa
1983-84   Laura Almquist
1984-85   Mary Margaret Raymond
1985-86   Connie McConnell*
1986-87   Melinda Carrell
1987-88   Ann Boice
1988-89   Natalie Davis
1989-90   Virginia Dahlberg*
1990-91   Louise Thomas
1991-92   Elizabeth Alexander Ogilvy
1992-93   Sally Drachman
1993-94   Edith Auslander
1994-95   Freddy Hershberger
1995-96   Nancy Kinerk
1996-97   Dee O’Neill
1997-98   Brenda Even
1998-99   Patricia Crowley*
1999-00   Brenda Viner
2000-01   Marilyn “Corkey” Ronstadt
2001-02   Mary Kay Dinsmore
2002-03   Frances Sundt
2003-04   Laura Sundt Eberly
2004-05   Dawn Cole
2005-06   DeeAnn Sakrison
2006-07   Barbara Peck
2007-08   Charlotte Harris
2008-09   Linda Lohse
2009-10   Kristin Almquist
2010-11   Jennifer Casteix
2011-12   Lynne Dusenberry
2012-13   Eleanore “Fuzzy” Adelman
2013-14   Carla Keegan
2014-15   Melinda Burke
2015-16   Betsy Bolding
2016-17   Betty Jo Drachman